Dead Kennedys - In God We Trust, Inc (Grey)

Regular price $ 37.99

The band didn't hold back at all when it came to the follow-up for Fresh Fruit -- if anything, they exploded to a degree never matched by them in later years. Arguably the sheer speed and lack of any subtlety throughout most of this eight-song EP means there's less to talk about in terms of deathless songs and more in the way of sheer breathless anger and rage. The titles say it all: "Nazi Punks Fuck Off," "Religious Vomit," "Hyperactive Child." The sheer hilarity of the band isn't lost, thankfully; "Moral Majority" may rip along as per always, but Biafra's parody of a typical TV preacher at the start is a scream. The real winners come at the end, starting with "We've Got a Bigger Problem Now." A reworking of "California Über Alles," specifically targeted at California governor turned president Ronald Reagan, benefits from an amusing jazz/lounge start and even more righteous, slow-burn bile than before. The group tops it off with a romp through Frankie Laine's "Rawhide," ending everything on a fun, kicking note.

Grey Vinyl

A1 Religious Vomit 1:03
A2 Moral Majority 1:55
A3 Hyperactive Child 0:37
A4 Kepone Factory 1:17
A5 Dog Bite 1:13
B1 Nazi Punks Fuck Off 1:03
B2 We've Got a Bigger Problem Now 4:24
B3 Rawhide 2:07