Memphis Slim, Sonny Boy Williamson & Matt Murphy - The Reissued 1963 Blues Festival (RSD2024)

Regular price $ 29.99
Recorded live at the Blues Festival in Oberhausen, West Germany 1963, this is the first vinyl reissue since the original pressing on the UK blues label Red Lightnin' in 1986. These 11 songs feature Memphis Slim and Sonny Boy Williamson backed by Matt "Guitar" Murphy (the Blues Brother), Willie Dixon, and drummer Bill Stepney. This particular show was formerly quite rare, and captures some truly smoking performances, particularly Memphis Slim's rarely-heard "I Wrote This Song", and Sonny Boy Williamson's "All My Love In Vain.”

These incredible blues recordings are being remastered and reissued on heavyweight transparent blue vinyl for Record Store Day, in honor of their 60th anniversary.

A1 - Memphis Slim - Wish Me Well
A2 - Memphis Slim - I Wrote This Song
A3 - Memphis Slim - All By Myself
A4 - Sonny Boy Williamson - 99
A5 - Sonny Boy Williamson - Bye Bye Bird
A6 - Memphis Slim - In The Evening
B1 - Matt Murphy - Groovin' On Bounce
B2 - Matt Murphy - Taking Off
B3 - Sonny Boy Williamson - All My Love In Vain
B4 - Sonny Boy Williamson - Your Funeral And My Trial
B5 - Sonny Boy Williamson - Don't Start Me To Talkin'