Smiths, The - 1983: Troy Tate Abandoned Sessions

Regular price $ 24.99

When The Smiths recorded their famous debut album they first had Troy Tate as a producer.  They weren't entirely pleased with the final production, so they re-recorded the album with John Porter.  

The story of The Troy Tate Sessions is legendary among fans of The Smiths. The Smiths had recorded 14 songs with producer Troy Tate in the summer of 1983, 13 of which were supposed to become their debut album, seemingly titled “The Hand That Rocks The Cradle”. Disagreements arose regarding the sound production, and The Smiths end up going to John Porter, who produced from scratch what is considered the first official Smiths album, the self-titled “The Smiths”.

Side A
A1 Reel Around The Fountain
A2 You've Got Everything Now
A3 Miserable Lie
A4 Pretty Girls Make Graves
A5 The Hand That Rocks The Cradle
Side B
B1 Hand In Glove
B2 What Difference Does It Make?
B3 I Don't Owe You Anything 4:04
B4 Suffer Little Children
B5 Jaene
B6 Handsome devil