Freddie Gibbs - $oul $old $eparately

Regular price $ 36.99

Freddie Gibbs' long-promised Warner Records debut, $oul $old $eparately, followed two of the biggest albums of his career, Bandana (with Madlib) and the Grammy-nominated Alfredo (with the Alchemist). Both of those releases, as well as his first with Madlib, 2014's Piñata, all reached the Top 40 of the Billboard 200, and were almost immediately hailed as classics, adding to a discography already stacked with efforts that are highly regarded by hardcore rap fans. $oul $old $eparately reflects on the path to success, framing the album with interludes about a glamorous casino and tales of luxurious excess, yet most of the lyrics focus on the bleakest aspects of the struggle, from drug abuse to the loss of friends, family, and partners. The frequent presence of a pink, Energizer Bunny-like rabbit mascot in the album's artwork and lyrics somewhat candy-coats the seriousness of the subject matter, as Gibbs uses humor and extravagance to draw the listener into his often cold and unforgiving perspective. He is joined by a long list of guest rappers, singers, and producers, with the Alchemist and Madlib returning for one song each (the Madlib-helmed "CIA," which suggests that the agency is responsible for crack, Instagram, and AIDS, is a clear highlight). Kaytranada's trippily intricate beat matches Gibbs' jagged flow on "Zipper Bagz," and the emcee drives through the stunning "Space Rabbit" without getting swept away by the track's lush, ethereal pianos. James Blake's detached croon hovers over "Dark Hearted" like a distant fog, emphasizing the spine-chilling qualities of Gibbs' lyrics. The Musiq Soulchild-assisted "Grandma's Stove" is just as haunting, particularly during the outro, when Gibbs' mother leaves him a message, yet she's constantly interrupted due to a horrendously faulty connection. Grander in scope than Gibbs' rightly praised single-producer efforts, $oul $old $eparately is nearly as consistent, as the project is driven by his unyielding focus.

2 LP Neon Yellow Vinyl

1 Couldn’t Be Done 2:31
     feat. Kelly Price
2 Blackest in the Room 2:47
3 Pain & Strife 1:57
     feat. Offset
4 Zipper Bagz 2:54
5 Too Much 3:08
     feat. MoneyBagg Yo
6 Lobster Omelette 3:04
     feat. Rick Ross
7 Space Rabbit 2:58
8 Feel No Pain 3:17
     feat. Anderson .Paak & Raekwon
9 Rabbit Vision 3:13
10 PYS 2:48
     feat. DJ Paul
11 Dark Hearted 3:25
12 Gold Rings 3:42
     feat. Pusha T
13 Grandma’s Stove 4:11
     feat. Musiq Soulchild
14 CIA 2:56