Future - S/T

Regular price $ 42.99

The first of two chart-topping albums released back to back in consecutive weeks, Future's eponymous LP is the extroverted party-starting sibling to HNDRXX's introverted contemplator. Here, production is the star, adding excitement and variety to Future's reliable, trap-star flow. 808 Mafia's Southside is at the top of the pack, with a hand in at least half of the album's tracks. Among his highlights, "Good Dope" helps Future make the trap sound as addictive as any Migos track; "Zoom" bends sound waves atop a warped hang drum-sounding sample, and "POA" rides a thrilling melody that sounds like a dulcimer on lean. "Draco" glitters with a spacy loop provided by DJ Spinz, while Zaytoven closes Future with two of the most confessional songs -- perhaps a direct prelude to what's found on HNDRXX -- including "When I Was Broke," a touching ode to his ride-or-die that features tinkling piano and distorted dub. Album highlight "Mask Off" employs a sample of Tommy Butler and Carlton Williams' "Prison Song," the flute melody elevating Future's rags-to-riches tale with Metro Boomin's effective production. Although Future's typical predilection for sex, drugs, and crime still rules, the inspired production on Future at least makes for an interesting listen. Taken together with HNDRXX, it becomes more of a fascinating peek into the rapper's psyche, showing multiple sides to Future's personality and his struggles with his trap past and his self-imposed destiny to become a future Hendrix.

1 Rent Money 4:25
2 Good Dope 2:52
3 Zoom 4:38
4 Draco 3:45
5 Super Trapper 3:50
6 POA 4:08
7 Mask Off 3:23
8 High Demand 3:31
9 Outta Time 2:48
10 Scrape 3:37
11 I'm So Groovy 4:21
12 Might As Well 3:27
13 Poppin' Tags 3:38
14 Massage in My Room 2:35
15 Flip 4:14
16 When I Was Broke 3:05
17 Feds Did a Sweep 4:30