John Coltrane & Johnny Hartman - Verve Acoustic Sound Series

Regular price $ 45.99

John Coltrane's matchup with singer Johnny Hartman, although quite unexpected, works extremely well. Hartman was in prime form on the six ballads, and his versions of "Lush Life" and "My One and Only Love" have never been topped. Coltrane's playing throughout the session is beautiful, sympathetic, and still exploratory; he sticks exclusively to tenor on the date. At only half an hour, one wishes there were twice as much music, but what is here is classic, essential for all jazz collections.

A1 They Say It's Wonderful 5:15
A2 Dedicated to You 5:27
A3 My One and Only Love 4:50
B1 Lush Life 5:20
B2 You Are Too Beautiful 5:32
B3 Autumn Serenade 4:11