Lightnin' Hopkins - Lightnin' Strikes

Regular price $ 14.99

set of solo recordings from Lightnin' Hopkins, one of the greatest of the Texas bluesmen. This one is entirely acoustic, and that suits his country blues style perfectly. There's a slight boogie riff following his vocals wherever they go, and the occasional foray into instrumental blues as needed. The blues he plays on this record are relatively bare, much in the vein of a John Lee Hooker or Robert Johnson, though Hopkins developed more or less independently of both influences. For fans of country blues, Lightnin' Hopkins should already be on the shelf.

A1 Got Me a Louisiana Woman 3:02
A2 Want to Come Home 3:55
A3 Please Don't Quit Me 3:09
A4 Devil Is Watching You 3:57
A5 Rolling and Rolling 2:56
B1 War Is Starting Again 3:02
B2 Walkin' Round in Circles 3:05
B3 Mary Lou 3:13
B4 Heavy Snow 3:31
B5 Coon Is Hard to Catch 4:10