Miles Davis & John Coltrane - Miles & Coltrane

Regular price $ 21.99

In addition to two selections ("Little Melonae" and "Budo") from his first session for Columbia, this LP contains the complete performance at the 1958 Newport Jazz Festival. When one considers that Davis' sextet at the time included such giants as tenor saxophonist John Coltrane, altoist Cannonball Adderley, pianist Bill Evans, bassist Paul Chambers, and drummer Jimmy Cobb, it is not surprising that fireworks resulted. Still, the power and drive of this intense version of "Ah-Leu-Cha" is a revelation, and the band really swings and stretches out on "Straight, No Chaser," "Fran Dance," "Two Bass Hit," and "Bye Bye Blackbird." Brilliant music by some of the giants.

180g DMM Remaster

1 Ah-Leu-Cha 5:49
2 Straight, No Chaser 8:48
3 Fran-Dance (Put Your Little Foot Right Out) 7:12
4 Two Bass Hit 4:09
5 Bye Bye Blackbird 9:16
6 Little Melonae 7:20
7 Budo 4:16