Nina Simone - At Town Hall

Regular price $ 21.99

One of Nina Simone's finest recordings, this Colpix LP features the unique singer/pianist performing classic versions of "Black Is the Color of My True Love's Hair," "The Other Woman," and "Wild Is the Wind." With supportive work from bassist Jimmy Bond and drummer Albert "Tootie" Heath, she also sounds fine on a few instrumentals. "Summertime" is performed twice, once as a vocal. From the start of her career, Nina Simone carved out her own unique niche, meshing together her classical piano technique with folk singing, civil rights protest lyrics and jazz. All of those elements are in evidence on this highly recommended set.

A1 Black Is the Color of My True Love's Hair
A2 Exactly Like You
A3 The Other Woman
A4 Under the Lowest
A5 You Can Have Him (I Don't Want Him)
B1 Summertime (Instrumental)
B2 Summertime
B3 Cotton Eyed Joe
B4 Return Home
B5 Wild Is the Wind
B6 Fine and Mellow